Meet the Staff

2020-2021 E-Board

Haruka Noishiki
Editor in Chief

Haruka is a senior studying International Relations and Psychology to understand threat perception in decision of global consequence. She hails from Japan with roots in Jersey and California. On campus, when not brainstorming for Women in IR, she can be found editing for Hemispheres, an international affairs journal, tutoring as Writing Fellow, or serving as peer leader with CAFE, a pre-orientation program. She kicked off the 19-20 academic year with a Summer in DC, Fall in Boston chased with a Spring in Paris and is looking forward to going back to all three homes, old and new. This summer, she served as Program Assistant with the US-Asia Institute based in DC and Fellow with Beyond the Bomb. She is conducting her senior honors thesis on cartographical influences on strategic decision making in East Asia. Her areas of interest include East Asia, East Europe, nuclear non-proliferation, and psychological analysis in international affairs. She speaks Japanese, English and French.
Alyssa Pak
Managing Editor

Alyssa Pak (A’23) is from Chicago, Illinois, and is majoring in Economics and International Relations, with a minor in history. She is currently the managing editor for Hemispheres, and loves the process of reading and editing articles with her peers. Other clubs she’s involved in include Women in IR, where she is the publicity chair, and JumboVote, where she serves a Democracy Rep. She also works as a research assistant for Digital Planet at the Fletcher Institute for Business in the Global Context. In her free time, she loves exploring Boston’s restaurant scene, playing the piano and viola, horseback riding, reading, traveling, and biking to the Chicago Botanic Gardens when she’s at home.
Emma Christman
Managing Editor

Emma Christman (A’23) is a sophomore from Sudbury, Massachusetts. She is a Managing Editor at Hemispheres and has previously served as the Photo Editor. She studies International Relations with a concentration in international security along with taking French classes. On campus, Emma is also involved with Tufts Women in International Relations. When she is not in class, Emma enjoys playing violin, taking photos, being outside and spending time with friends and family. You can usually find her sitting on Pres lawn, walking to Davis square or getting a smoothie from Kindlevan cafe.
Hazel Leonard
Director of Communications

Hazel is a sophomore from Millburn, New Jersey who intends to major in International Relations and Computer Science. She is especially interested in the changing balance in power between countries as well as in the relationship between government and technology. In her free time, she enjoys painting and listening to music.
Amelia Miller
Photography Editor

Amelia Miller is a sophomore from Howard, Pennsylvania. She intends to double major in Arabic and International Relations, with a concentration in Security. She is currently serving as the Photography Director for Hemispheres. In addition to her work for Hemispheres, Amelia is the acting Treasurer of ECOM, Events Chair for WIIR, and a Tufts Wilderness Orientation (TWO) Pre-Orientation Leader. In her free time, she enjoys listening to music, singing poorly, reading, and raising chickens at her home in PA.
Brent Cheung
Director of Finance

Brent is a sophomore studying International Relations and History to understand the political ramifications of international conflicts. He has lived in Hong Kong, Lagos, and Shanghai. On campus, Brent is the Financial Director for Hemispheres, a researcher for Baseball Analytics Club, and is a founder and coach for the Tufts League of Legends team. He has worked for Asia Society, a non-governmental organization dedicated to raising awareness for the Asian identity and culture on a global scale.
Connor Giersch
Website Editor

Connor is a Sophomore from Natick, Massachusetts studying International Relations and History. He is especially interested in counterinsurgency and asymmetrical wars. In addition to managing the Hemispheres website, he is a volunteer mechanic at Tufts Bikes and runs Cross Country and Track and Field for Tufts University.
April Gao
Director of Programming

April is a freshman from Austin, Texas who plans to major in International Relations, while pursuing her other academic interests chiefly Art, Literature, Physics, and History at Tufts. Her many talents include co-ordinating events, making incredible poached eggs, and drinking coffee: LOTS of coffee.

Staff Editors

Emma Jennings, Jack Korcuska, David Wingens, Kieran Singh, Riya Mehta, Caroline Nowak, Gavin Herzig, Spencer Julian, Iona Hadinoto, Jason Wu, Oliver Printy, Maya van Rosendaal, Tara Bajpai, Kresten Due, Stanley Wu, Zoe Belluck, John Cyprus, Ali Slimi, Kyle Krell

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s